Manurewa Central School opened as Manurewa School in 1906, after the Woodside School Building was shifted to its new site on the corner of Hill Road and Great South Road. The building was later demolished in 1972. You can read more about the move and opening in the 31 August 1906 entry on Manukau’s Journey – a Manukau timeline.
Ref: Opening day, Manurewa School, 3 September 1906, photograph reproduced courtesy of Manurewa Historical Society, South Auckland Research Centre, Auckland Libraries, Footprints 01209.
Ref: GA Robertson, Memorial gates and public school, 1921, photograph reproduced courtesy of Manurewa Historical Society, South Auckland Research Centre, Auckland Libraries, Footprints 01219.
This collection covers the years (1881-1981) and also includes general correspondence, class lists 1946-1981 and correspondence relating to the Manurewa School Roll of Honour Board.
A much newer institution, Finlayson Park School opened in 1976. Located at 85 John Walker Drive, Manurewa, this large, multicultural school employs a unique and progressive bi-cultural approach to learning.
A more visual collection, it comprises photographs and audio-visual material focusing on school activities, school outings, school camps, Christmas parades, targeted health programmes and sports events. The collection spans 1979 to 1995.
Both schools still thrive in South Auckland and these collections will really resonate with those who have a connection to these schools, whilst providing all of us with a good overview of some of the history of these schools and their surrounding communities.
Author: Laura Jamieson